Archdiocese of Cape Town

Archdiocese of Cape Town

The German-Speaking Catholic Community is supported by the German Bishops' Conference (Deutsche Bischofskonferenz) who also appoints our local priests.

However, we are also part of the Archdiocese of Cape Town. This was specially mentioned when Vicar-General, Fr Peter-John Pearson installed our new priest to his post in Cape Town.

Stephen Brislin is the Archbishop of Cape Town. He began his service on Feb 2nd, 2010. His predecessor was Lawrence Patrick Henry, who was Archbishop since 1990 until his retirement in 2010.

A look on the history:

With the admission of the Catholic Church by the colonial authorities in 1805 and after clarifying difficulties with the Holy See, Pope Pius VII established the Vicariate Apostolic of the Cape of Good Hope in 1818, which included the nearby regions to the East and North.

On 11 January 1951 Pope Pius XII established by Papal Bull the Ecclesiastical Hierarchy in the Union of South Africa and set up the New Ecclesiastical Province of Cape Town, it means the Archdiocese of Cape Town and the suffragan dioceses of Aliwal, Oudtshoorn, Port Elizabeth, Queenstown and De Aar


Petra Schindler

Office: 21 Brownlow Rd, (Mediterranean Villa) Tamboerskloof, Cape Town

Tel: +27 (0)21 423 2188
Fax: +27 (0)21 422 1899
E-mail: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
Online: Contact Form
Location Map: Church
Location Map: Community Center

Upcoming Events

Mediterranean Villa

Community Centre & Guesthouse -

Hope Cape Town Trust

HIV outreach program & education -